Culture and Heritage

Arts

Nunavut has a rich tradition of creativity and artistic ability. Traditional Inuit culture, legends and the arctic environment provide unparalleled inspiration and distinct themes. Inuit have been using their surrounding materials to create art for millennia.

The period of contemporary Inuit art began in the late 1940s. Inuit tapestries, prints, carvings, jewelry, and fine arts have become renowned throughout the world. The storytelling, throat singing and drum dancing of Nunavut's Inuit are also an honoured tradition.

Art in Nunavut has blended traditional knowledge with modern-day techniques. This combination of new and old brings together the practices of our elders and youth to create exciting, innovative art that is truly unique to Nunavut.

Documentary Art Project

The Documentary Art Project is a collection of 19th century works, produced mainly by ship-board artists. These pieces represent how many Nunavummiut lived in the early 1800s.

These images were selected because of their striking contrasts. On one hand, the art shows Inuit clothing, culture and traditions, and on the other, there is the stark difference of the British naval officers.

The majority of these images are courtesy of the Library and Archives of Canada.

Photo gallery

Documentary Art Project brochure (PDF)

Culture et Patrimoine

Les arts

Le Nunavut a une riche tradition artistique. La culture inuit traditionnelle, les légendes et l'environnement arctique offrent un large éventail de thèmes et une source d'inspiration sans pareille. Depuis des millénaires, les Inuit créent avec les matériaux qu'ils trouvent dans leur environnement.

La période de l'art contemporain inuit commence à la fin des années 1940. Les tapisseries, les estampes, les sculptures, les bijoux et les beaux-arts inuit sont maintenant renommés à travers le monde. Les contes, le chant guttural et les danses au son du tambour des Inuit du Nunavut sont également des traditions consacrées.

L'art du Nunavut a su marier le savoir traditionnel des aînés aux techniques modernes des jeunes, ce qui le rend innovateur et vraiment unique.

Le Projet d'art documentaire

Le Projet d'art documentaire rassemble des objets d'art du 19e siècle. Réalisés, pour la plupart, par des artistes membres de l'équipage de navires, ces objets illustrent la façon dont vivaient plusieurs Nunavummiut au début du 19e siècle.

Les photos ont été choisies en raison des contrastes frappants qu'on y retrouve. On peut voir les vêtements, la culture et les traditions inuit, mais aussi les officiers de la marine britannique.

La plupart de ces photos sont une gracieuseté de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Les photos

Projet d'art documentaire (PDF)